

# LICENSURE UPDATE

Victoria Chamberlain, Executive Director

### **OFFICE CLOSURES**

As you know, the current recession has reduced state revenues, and has forced the Legislature to make deep cuts in agency budgets. Coping with these cuts requires closing most state offices and facilities on the days listed below. State workers affected by the closures will take unpaid furloughs on those days. We apologize for any inconvenience these closures might cause. TSPC will be closed these days:

### 2009-2011

Friday, Friday, March 19, 2010

Friday, April 16, 2010

Friday, June 18, 2010

Friday, August 20, 2010

Friday, September 17, 2010

Friday, November 26, 2010

Friday, March 18, 2011

Friday, May 20, 2011

### **Did You Know?**



If your license expires, you are not able to work or receive contract pay from your district. Many

people think that they can work but not as a teacher or administrator "of record." The rules say you may not be paid on contract with public funds if you have an expired license. It's important to get your application and fee in **BEFORE** your license expires.

## COMMUNICATION TO THE FIELD



One of the areas I receive many questions about involves the Continuing Professional Development requirement or CPD. This requirement is for people with the Initial II, Basic, Standard or Continuing licenses and requires 25 hours per year (75 for 3 year licenses and 125 for 5 year li-

censes) of documented professional growth experiences. The rule applies to people working in Oregon public schools half-time or more. It does not apply to retirees, substitutes, or people working outside of the state of Oregon.

Teachers should be developing plans with their principals, and administrators develop plans with their supervisors; then document the Professional Development Units (PDUs) acquired during the year. We have forms available at the TSPC site http://www.tspc.state.or.us/pdf/0030.pdf. TSPC does not oversee the plans or sign off on them. Your Human Resources/Superintendent will mark your PEER form when they fill it out and send it in to TSPC. The district is responsible for approving your plan or hours. Check with your principal for clarification.

What kinds of things count for PDUs? There are many ways to gather hours. The purpose is to *grow your professional knowledge* and there are a lot of options available. When you attend workshops or PD trainings, those hours count and you often get a certificate with the hours listed. Other ideas:

- ⇒ A book study group on a goal area or issue you want to learn about such as differentiated instruction, ELL strategies, RTI strategies, etc.
- ⇒ A university course where 1 quarter credit = 20 hours, 1 semester credit = 30 hours.
- $\Rightarrow$  Professional Learning Communities or Critical Friends Groups
- ⇒ Leading staff development where you prepare and teach topics
- ⇒ Serving on committees where you are exploring educational issues

Teachers with an Initial or Initial I license do not need to track PDU's for TSPC purposes because they are required to show progress with *graduate* college credits on that license.

If you have any questions, **check in with your HR department, principal, or Superintendent** for clarification. They are the ones who sign off on your plan and mark your PEER form.

Page 2 Volume 1, Issue 2

## The 4.5 Quarter Hours / 3 Semester Hours Surprise for the Initial I License

This past year we encountered a lot of applicants that seemed to be unaware of the requirements they were given in their advice letter about the Initial I license. People with Basic and Standard licenses may not be aware of this requirement of graduate credit for the Initial license because their licenses are different. If you were issued your first license on the basis of a bachelor's degree, the Initial I license carries a requirement that you must attain a Master's degree within 10 years of your license or accumulate 45 hours (15 in pedagogy, 15 in content area, 15 in



education related courses). To make sure progress occurs, licensees must show at least 4.5 quarter or 3 semester graduate hours of progress when they renew (Unless issued prior to 7/1/2005). This information was included with your license and is always available on the web under your name on the Licensure Inquiry tab. It's important that if you have an Initial I license you check to make sure you are making progress on the courses required. It's not easy to pick up the required credits once your license has expired. If you have any questions, please check your account or email us at contact.tspc@state.or.us. You can also check in with the staff who are responsible for HR work in your district, as they are *very knowledgeable* about licensure issues. Don't get caught without your coursework done!

Next month we will talk about the Initial I license gotten with a Masters degree.

## Do You Know When Your License Expires?



While you know that your license expires on your birthday, it's very easy to forget what *year* it expires. The Commission is concerned about the number of licensees who let their licenses expire and continue to teach without a license. Working without a

license could result in a disciplinary investigation and action taken by the Commission.

TSPC sends you an email reminder on your birthday to keep you informed of what is going on. If you don't keep your email current or change your home address, you could miss this communication. It's important to update address and email information with us regularly so you don't miss important reminders about your license, work on an expired license, and find yourself the subject of an investigation. Right now, all educators with expired licenses, and their districts, are required to write a letter of explanation to TSPC before a license can be issued.

Some suggestions to help you remember might be to post a copy of your license in your classroom or put a reminder on your calendar to check your license expiration date each birthday so you don't get caught in a bind practicing without a license.

Initial = 3 years Basic = 3 years Continuing. = 5 years Standard = 5 years

## Conditional Assignment Permits—CAPS

The Conditional Assignment Permit (CAP) IS NOT A LICENSE. There seems to be confusion about the difference between a teaching license and a CAP. Your teaching license is the ticket to allowing you to work in a classroom. You cannot teach or receive payment for work in a district if you do not have a valid teaching license.

A Conditional Assignment Permit (CAP) is attached to a license to allow you to work in an area without the endorsement or level authorization. It is used to provide a bridge while obtain training, finish a program, or complete testing.

A CAP does not allow you to teach on its own. If your license expires, your CAP is no good. It is only valid with a license that is current. The difficulty arises because CAPs and licenses are not on the same schedule. You could be teaching for 2 years and your district requests a CAP that is good for 3 years. Then your license expires and you or your principal think that the CAP allows you to continue legally teaching. The CAP is not valid if the license expires. It can easily continue to be valid upon renewal of your license.

If you have questions, be sure to emails us at **contact.tspc@state.or.us** for clarification.

Licensure Update Page 3

### Commission Updates....

## TSPC to Move to NES Testing Company



Teacher Standards and Practices Commission is working with the Evaluation Systems group of Pearson to implement new contemporary teacher certification tests that are part of the company's NES<sup>®</sup> (National Evaluation Series<sup>™</sup>). The NES teacher certification tests provide Oregon with

comprehensive exams aligned to professionally accepted national learning standards, covering areas such as essential academic skills, professional knowledge, reading instruction and commonly taught elementary, middle and secondary grade-level subjects. Oregon is the first state to adopt Pearson's NES tests, which will be required for Oregon teacher licensure or endorsement in most areas *effective Sept. 1, 2010*.

Oregon will use the NES tests to replace many existing tests for licenses and endorsements, integrating the new NES tests with the existing customized Oregon Educator Licensure Assessments (ORELA) program. Additional details for candidates and teacher preparation program faculty will be made available throughout 2010 on the TSPC Web site at <a href="http://www.Oregon.gov/TSPC">http://www.Oregon.gov/TSPC</a> and through other communications.

Beginning Sept. 01,2010, candidates for Oregon teacher licensure will be able to take the NES tests at Pearson's secure testing centers in the state and around the country at the time of their choosing with an appointment. A series of free preparation guides for the NES test is now available at <a href="http://www.NEStest.com">http://www.NEStest.com</a> and will also be available at <a href="http://www.orela.nesinc.com/">http://www.NEStest.com</a> and will also be available at <a href="http://www.orela.nesinc.com/">http://www.orela.nesinc.com/</a> beginning in June 2010, when test registration opens. The preparation guides, called NES Profiles, include the information a candidate needs about the test, such as the format, content areas and competencies covered, as well as sample test questions and answers.

Vickie Chamberlain, Executive Director of TSPC, is excited about the options educators will have working with NES testing. "Computer-based testing allows us to offer candidates the convenience of taking a test on-demand and receiving a score immediately after the test is completed so they know where they stand."

More information will follow to help educators know how this change will affect them. Be sure to keep an eye on the TSPC website for updates.

### Administrator Licenses Under Review

The TSPC Commission is taking a look at the scope of administrative license with the intent of defining what administrative duties require an administrative license. We continue to find districts who are unsure of what positions require this license. In the past, the license has been viewed as one that allows the holder to evaluate staff. In examining the rules and practice, it is not that simple.

The positions that cause the most confusion include: Athletic Directors, Deans, Directors, Coordinators, and others. The Commission asked us to meet with COSA and to get input from the field on this license.

COSA will be convening a task force to provide input to the Commission on the issue of Administrator licensure, and may hold a session at the summer conference where administrators will have an opportunity to meet and share their opinions as well as give input to the discussion. We hope you will participate on this important topic.

### **Alternative Education**

Just a reminder that effective July 1, 2009, ONLY basic, standard, initial, or continuing teaching licenses may work in Alternative Education programs. All other licenses including emergency, restricted, limited are not authorized to teach in Alternative Education Programs. Career and Technical Education "alternative programs" must use teachers with CTE licenses.

# We're on the web at www.oregon.gov/tspc

### **Faxing Documents to TSPC**

If you are wanting to fax information to TSPC, it's important to send it to the **503 378-4448** number. Material faxed to this number actually goes to a computer which allows staff to connect the documents with the proper account and assures it is recorded.



Remember, transcripts are not acceptable as a fax.

## Teacher Standards & Practices Commission

465 Commercial St. NE Salem, OR 97301-3414 Phone: 503-378-3586 Fax: 503-378-4448

Email: contact.tspc@state.or.us

### **TSPC Commissioners**

Mario Alba Bill Beck Francis Charbonnier Milt Dennison Thomas Greene Charleen Hoiland Gary Humphries

Shirley Madathil Gordon Munck

Nancy Olson

Mary Lou Pickard

Melissa Sass

Robert Sconce, Jr., Vice Chair

Sam Stern

Jeff Matsumoto

Cassandra Wilson, Chair

Michael Wood

#### Licensure Staff

Victoria Chamberlain Executive Director Keith Menk

Deputy Director

Julie McCann
Director of Licensure

#### **Public Service Reps**

Stephanie Gross

Amanda Hill

Beth Jones

Patty Liddell

Jamila Miller

Mike Newton

Maria Odle

#### License Evaluators

Linda Helton

Heidi Reinhardt

## TSPC Pilots New Hours

In an effort to find ways to better serve you, TSPC will extend their hours during the month of March on a <u>pilot basis</u>. Our hours for the month of March will be:

M-F 7 AM to 6 PM

Saturday 8 AM to 12:00 PM (except for 3/19-20 due to furlough)

We will review the pilot at the end of March and evaluate if it helped meet the needs of licensees.

### Miscellaneous Reminders

You don't need an appointment to come to TSPC. There are always staff members who are able to help you. We are located between the bridges in Salem on Commercial St NE. We are directly across from Rite Aid.





## TSPC Staff

We thought it would be helpful for you to see who the staff members are serving your needs at TSPC.



To establish, uphold and enforce professional standards of excellence and communicate those standards to the public and educators for the benefit of Oregon's students.