Teacher Standards and Practices Commission

250 Division St NE

Salem, OR 97301 wWww.oregon.gov/tspc
Fax: (503) 378-3758

Voice: (503) 378-3586

Fingerprinting Instructions

TSPC Fingerprinting Fee: $55

Oregon law requires that applicants who apply to become student teachers, educators, or school nurses must
first be fingerprinted. Applicants must submit one fingerprint card to TSPC to be used for checking Oregon and
Federal Bureau Investigation criminal history records. If you have completed fingerprinting for TSPC and have
held an Oregon license during the past three years, you do not need to meet this requirement.

The procedures for fulfilling this requirement are as follows:

1. Obtain a 9x12 envelope for mailing in your fingerprint card, and print the Fingerprint Handler Sheet to
provide to the fingerprinting agent (page 3 of these instructions). The Fingerprint Handler Sheet must be
enclosed with your fingerprint card.

2. Obtain an original FBI fingerprint card. You may be fingerprinted and obtain the card from: a. Any local or
state police jurisdiction in the United States.

b. An Oregon school district, Education Service District, an Oregon Approved Teacher Education Institution, or
an approved fingerprinting agency.

3. If having prints imaged by live scan; DO NOT pre-fill the fingerprint card with personal information. For
Ink Roll fingerprints, fill out the fingerprint card by entering your name (including aliases), complete mailing
address, social security number, citizenship, date of birth, and personal information (gender, race, etc.) Sign
the card in the presence of the authorized fingerprinter. Note: The space for OCA must be left blank for
office use.

4. Arrange to have your fingerprints taken by authorized personnel at any local or state police jurisdiction in the
United States. Fingerprints may also be taken by authorized personnel at an Oregon school district, Education
Service District, or an Oregon Approved Teacher Education Institution, or any other authorized fingerprinting
agency. The agency or institution may charge an additional separate fee to take your fingerprints.

5. Provide for the authorized finger printer at least one form of picture identification, such as a driver's license,
Division of Motor Vehicles photo identification card, military identification card, student body card, etc.

6. Give both the 9x12 envelope and the Fingerprint Handler Sheet form to the authorized fingerprinting agent.
7. The authorized fingerprinter will complete the Fingerprint Handler Sheet, seal both this form and the
completed fingerprint card in the 9x12 envelope you provide, sign across the outside flap of the envelope, and
then hand the envelope back to you. Do Not Open, this must be submitted to TSPC sealed.

8 Mail the sealed envelope (containing both your fingerprint card and the handler sheet) to TSPC.

OPENING THE ENVELOPE PRIOR TO TSPC RECEIVING IT WILL INVALIDATE THE AUTHENTICITY OF
THE FINGERPRINTS AND, AS A RESULT, THE CARD WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.

9. Include in your application packet a personal check, money order, or cashier’s check made out to TSPC
in the amount of $55 to cover the actual cost of acquiring and processing your records. This amount is in
addition to the application and processing fee for applying for your Oregon license or registration. You
may combine the application and fingerprint processing fee in one payment.

10. Some reminders:

a. Please do not turn in your fingerprints before submitting your online application and fees.

NOTE: Oregon educator licenses, charter school registrations, or permissions to student teach
shall be denied or revoked for a conviction of any crimes listed under ORS 342.143 and ORS
342.175



https://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/342.143
https://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/342.175
https://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/342.175

Applicant Name:

SSN:

Teacher Standards and Practices Commission

250 Division St. NE

Salem, OR 97301 WWWw.oregon.gov/tspc
Fax: (503) 378-3758

Voice: (503) 378-3586

Fingerprint Handler Sheet

This form must be completed by an authorized fingerprinting agent.

The person presenting you with this form will be using it to apply to be an Oregon student
teacher, educator, or school nurse. In order to ensure proper verification of handling of this card
by the applicant and to avoid an incomplete or improper application, please answer the following
guestions. Please then sign this form and enclose it along with the completed fingerprint cards
in an envelope.

1. Has the applicant filled out the personal information on the fingerprint card to include:
name (including aliases), complete mailing address, social security number, citizenship, date of
birth, and personal information (sex, race, etc.)?

2. Have you made a positive identification of this applicant using at least one form of
picture identification, such as a photo driver's license, Division of Motor Vehicles photo
identification card, military identification card, student body card, etc.?

3. Does the applicant have one fingerprint card and an envelope in which to seal the
fingerprint card and this form?

Please be sure that you:
Complete and initial the three steps above;
Please do not fold, hole-punch, or otherwise damage the fingerprint card,;
Sign the fingerprint card;
Sign this form below; and
Remember to initial the outside flap of the envelope after sealing it.

Authorized Fingerprinting Agent’s Signature Date

Name (Please print or type)

Police Agency/ School District/ Institution

DO NOT FORGET TO SEAL THIS FORM WITH THE FINGERPRINT CARD IN A
SINGLE ENVELOPE AND THEN INITIAL THE OUTSIDE FLAP.
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