Text Size: A+| A-| A   |   Text Only Site   |   Accessibility
 
 

  News Release
 
The following is a news release from the Oregon Teacher Standards and Commission. If there are more details that we can provide for you, please feel free to contact us (see Contact Us).
 
 
  Five-Year Licenses and Fee Increase Update
  Released: Friday, June 10, 2005 at 5:00 PM
 
 
  Five-Year Licenses and Fee Increase Update

The passage of the administrative rules relative to five year licenses was premised on the belief that we would be able to obtain the necessary legislative approval for the fee increase. To recover the necessary money to continue to operate the agency through the next two biennia, requires that we increase the fees above the current statutory fee cap of $100.

In order to implement the five year licenses without the increase in the statutory fee cap of $100, we would have to increase the fee to the cap ($100) until we obtained authorization (hopefully) from the 2007 Legislature. Without an approved fee cap increase in 2007, the agency would go bankrupt during the 2007-2009 biennium. The Legislature understands that clearly today. We presented cash-flow analyses to the House and Senate Budget Committees and this information was incorporated into the Legislative Intent developed for our budget bills. Regardless of their present knowledge, to show up at the 2007 session with a guaranteed cash-flow shortage for the upcoming biennium is likely to be interpreted unfavorably by many legislators. That scenario presents many risks.

Accordingly, until the Commission has an opportunity to discuss and resolve this dilemma at the August Commission meeting, we will continue business as usual: Same fees, same length of term of licenses, even after July 1, 2005.

If we do have ANY fee increase, it will not be implemented until after the summer's crushing workload. We will develop rules for people who are issued 3 year licenses after July 1, 2005, to pay additional money to receive the additional 2 years if we actually go in that direction.

Also, it will not possible, under any scenario for someone who currently would be getting a 3 year license to get a 5 year license for $75. Our budget is delicately balanced on being able to recover the money necessary from the movement from three year licenses to five year licenses to continue operations.
 

 

  Archived: September 15, 2005  [VC:224-1] 
Back to the Top
 
 

Click here to go to the Oregon Dept. of Veterans' Affairs outreach contact form

Get Adobe Acrobat ReaderAdobe Reader is required to view PDF files. Click the "Get Adobe Reader" image to get a free download of the reader from Adobe.