Text Size: A+| A-| A   |   Text Only Site   |   Accessibility

  News Release
The following is a news release from the Oregon Teacher Standards and Commission. If there are more details that we can provide for you, please feel free to contact us (see Contact Us).
  New and Recently Reappointed TSPC Commissioners
  Released: Wednesday, June 15, 2005 at 5:00 PM
The following actions were recently taken by the Senate Rules Committee on Governor's Executive Appointments.


Greg Bell was appointed by Governor Kulongoski to the Teacher Standards and Practices Commission for a 3-year term that began February 15, 2005, and will end December 31, 2007. Mr. Bell succeeds Richard Steiner on the Commission representing one of two public member positions.

Mr. Bell is a speaker, consultant, trainer and facilitator specializing in personal and organizational transformation in the area of change management, customer service, teambuilding, and cultural competency. He is recognized as a leading resource for meeting facilitation, inspirational speaking and entertaining trainings. His work is dedicated to helping administrators, educators, students, families and communities build strong and inclusive educational systems.

Mr. Bell brings over 15 years of experience in the areas of law, education and business consulting, development and training. He believes education is one of the most important concerns, both short and long term. He hopes to provide TSPC with the necessary leadership, commitment and insight to help Oregon be proud of our educational system.

Francis Charbonnier was appointed to a partial 3-year term that began April 20, 2005, and will end December 31, 2007. Mr. Charbonnier succeeds Carolyn Ortman on the Commission representing school boards.

Mr. Charbonnier was born and raised in France. He first came to the USA in 1949 and shortly thereafter received a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Washington. In late 1955, he came to McMinnville where he has lived and worked ever since. He became an American citizen in January 1959.

As a school board member for 25 years, he has come to appreciate the important role TSPC plays in promoting and ensuring quality of education through high professional standards and performance for teachers. He is particularly interested in ensuring that new teachers are familiar with current research and best practices in pedagogy and subject matter and that experienced teachers remain proficient and current in all endorsements.

Karen Weiseth was appointed for a 3-year term that began February 15, 2005, and will end December 31, 2007. Ms Weiseth succeeds Cathy Gwinn on the Commission representing one of four elementary teacher positions.

For the past three years, Ms. Weiseth as served as liaison to the Commission from the Oregon Education Association representing the OEA Board of Directors. In addition to holding a Standard Elementary Teaching License with a handicapped Learner endorsement, she also holds an Initial Administrator License. She is currently involved with COSA in looking at the Initial and Continuing Administrator Licenses.

As a practicing elementary Special Educator at Central Point School District, Ms. Weiseth has a professional interest in the quality of future educators, administrators, and the continuing development of current practioners. She believes in the public school system, its safety for students and staff, and its continuance as the producer of the world's best educated workforce and participatory citizens. It is her desire to continue to strengthen public schools.

Reappointments for 3-year terms that began January 1, 2005, and will end December 31, 2007:

Patricia Evenson-Brady. This is Ms. Evenson-Brady's second term on the Commission representing County / ESD superintendents. She is Superintendent of Hood River County School District.

Charleen Hoiland. Ms. Hoiland previously filled an unexpired 3-year term from April 9, 2004, to December 31, 2004. She represents secondary teachers and is employed by the Oregon Department of Education at the Oregon School for the Deaf as a Library Media Specialist and Teacher.

Katrina Myers. This is Ms. Myers' second term on the Commission representing secondary teachers. She is an English teacher at Henley High School in the Klamath County School District.

Leslie Walborn. This is Ms. Walborn's second term on the Commission representing elementary teachers. She is an elementary teacher at Arlington Elementary School in the Arlington School District 3.

A bio and picture for each of the above Commissioners is available on the TSPC Web site under the directory entitled Commission. If you have any questions, please contact Melody Hanson at melody.hanson@state.or.us or 503-373-1260.


  Archived: August 31, 2005  [MH:226-1] 
Back to the Top

Click here to go to the Oregon Dept. of Veterans' Affairs outreach contact form

Get Adobe Acrobat ReaderAdobe Reader is required to view PDF files. Click the "Get Adobe Reader" image to get a free download of the reader from Adobe.